Electrical Tool
Electrical Material Takeoff
Load a job you saved. Get its wire, raceway and boxes, each line what one of its readings states.
Save readings from the wire size, voltage drop, sub-panel, service, conduit fill, bending, box fill, box picker and pull box tools to a job, then load the job here. A takeoff lists up to 20 readings.
Stops here: No reading is loaded, so there is no material to list. Load a job's readings.
Show the math
- GIVENReadings: 0
- STOPStops here: No reading is loaded, so there is no material to list.the readings
Where this number comes fromIntry Verified
- Calculated from
- The saved readings it lists, each recomputed by its own tool. Each line is a saved reading's own answer, recomputed today by that reading's tool; the takeoff adds only like quantities the readings state. See the full receipt ↓
- Run with
- Readings0
- Read0
- Items0
- Checked
- Every figure an Intry calculator computes comes from a locked source module, not hand-typed. 32786 automated checks, one suite for the whole site rather than a per-tool count, re-derive the numbers before each deploy from the tables this site holds, read from the cited NEC section. This is our own deterministic gate, not a third-party audit.
- Final say
- Your AHJ and local amendments have final say. Confirm before rough-in.
Intry Verified · Build D331505 · 2026-10-24
Each line is a saved reading recomputed by its own tool, which cites its code section. Check the list against the job before you order.
How to use the material takeoff
- Save readings to a job. Run the wire size, voltage drop, sub-panel, conduit fill, bending, box fill, box picker or pull box tool and Save each reading to the same job.
- Load the job. Open the takeoff, pick the job and load its readings.
- Read the list. Conductors, raceway and boxes, each line with its reading and the quantity that reading states, and every reading not read with why.
- Take it to the job. Copy for job notes, Save it to the job, or send it to your phone.
Worked examples
Example 1: a sub-panel feeder, a conduit fill reading and a pull box
7 items from 3 readings.
Show the math
- GIVENReadings: 3
- TABLEReading 1, 100A sub-panel: 3 copper feeder, 8 EGC: #3 AWG copper, THHN, 3 conductors, 100 ft run (one-way); holds only on 75°C-marked terminations; #1 Cu at 60°C; #8 AWG copper, THHN, equipment grounding conductor, 1 conductor, 100 ft run (one-way); 1 in. EMT (minimum), 1 raceway, length not stated; for the 100 ft feeder run, sized for 3 #3 AWG THHN and 1 #8 AWG THHNsub-panel
- TABLEReading 2, 1-1/4" EMT, 22.0% (PASS): 1-1/4 in. EMT, 1 raceway, length not stated; #3 AWG (metal not stated), THHN, 3 in this raceway, length not stated; #8 AWG (metal not stated), THHN, 1 in this raceway, length not statedconduit-fill
- TABLEReading 3, Pull box at least 14 in. long by 14 in. wide; entries enclosing the same conductor at least 12 in. apart (6 × 2 in.) (NEC 2023 314.28(A)): Pull box, at least 14 in. long by 14 in. wide; entries enclosing the same conductor at least 12 in. apart (6 × 2 in.) (NEC 2023 314.28(A)), 1 boxpull-box
- RESULTConductors, #3 AWG copper, THHN: 100 ft of one-way run, added over 1 line from 1 reading; the conductors in each run as each line statesthe readings above
- RESULTConductors, #8 AWG copper, THHN, equipment grounding conductor: 100 ft of one-way run, added over 1 line from 1 reading; the conductors in each run as each line statesthe readings above
- RESULTConductors, #3 AWG (metal not stated), THHN: 3 conductors in raceways, added from 1 reading; lengths not statedthe readings above
- RESULTConductors, #8 AWG (metal not stated), THHN: 1 conductor in raceways, added from 1 reading; lengths not statedthe readings above
- RESULTRaceway, 1 in. EMT (minimum): 1 added from 1 reading; lengths not statedthe readings above
- RESULTRaceway, 1-1/4 in. EMT: 1 added from 1 reading; lengths not statedthe readings above
- RESULTBoxes, Pull box, at least 14 in. long by 14 in. wide; entries enclosing the same conductor at least 12 in. apart (6 × 2 in.) (NEC 2023 314.28(A)): 1 added from 1 readingthe readings above
Example 2: a job with an EV charger reading
3 items from 1 reading (1 not read). The EV charger's parts stay on its own page.
Show the math
- GIVENReadings: 2
- TABLEReading 1, 1-1/4" EMT, 22.0% (PASS): 1-1/4 in. EMT, 1 raceway, length not stated; #3 AWG (metal not stated), THHN, 3 in this raceway, length not stated; #8 AWG (metal not stated), THHN, 1 in this raceway, length not statedconduit-fill
- TABLEReading 2, An EV charger reading: not read: the takeoff does not read the EV charger's parts list; its own page lists themnot read
- RESULTConductors, #3 AWG (metal not stated), THHN: 3 conductors in raceways, added from 1 reading; lengths not statedthe readings above
- RESULTConductors, #8 AWG (metal not stated), THHN: 1 conductor in raceways, added from 1 reading; lengths not statedthe readings above
- RESULTRaceway, 1-1/4 in. EMT: 1 added from 1 reading; lengths not statedthe readings above
Frequently Asked Questions
Where do the takeoff's quantities come from?
From the readings you saved to a job. Each line is what a reading's own tool states today: the wire size calculator's conductor and ground with the one-way distance you typed, conduit fill's raceway and conductor counts, bending's raceway, a box fill or box picker's box, the pull box's size. The takeoff computes no size of its own.
Why does it say the number of conductors is not stated?
The wire size and voltage drop calculators take a one-way run, not how many conductors run it, so a run of 60 ft could be two hots and a ground or more. The takeoff gives the run as the reading states it and adds runs of the same wire; multiply by the conductors you pull. Conduit fill states its conductor counts, and the sub-panel planner the feeder set its conduit was sized for, and the takeoff gives those.
Why is a reading listed as not read?
A reading its own tool refuses or flags (a wire the tool refuses or finds undersized, an overfilled raceway, a box that does not hold its conductors, an empty box) lists no material, and so does a link that is not the one its own tool writes. The one flag listed is a pull box over 6 ft: its size is still 314.28's, and its line carries the 314.28(B) note. An EV charger reading is not read because that tool keeps its parts list on its own page. When a job loads, readings from tools that state no material, like the rough-in checklist, and readings their own tool would not read are left out, and the note says how many and why.
Does it price the job?
No. It adds no price, waste or labour. Price it by hand with the markup calculator, or check each line against the job before you order.
How many readings can one takeoff hold?
Up to 20, and fewer where their links are long, so the takeoff's own link still opens on a phone. A job with more keeps its newest readings that state material and says how many it left out; save the rest to a second job for a second takeoff.